• english-bnr-np

News and Events

Print
  • Please mark your calendars and attend the following events in Spring 2015:

    Tuesday, January 27: "Exploring Old Magazines in the Classroom: Introducing a New NJCU Resource."  

        Workshop led by Prof. Ellen Garvey, 12:00-2:00 PM in Guarini Library Conference Room 416. (This event is sponsored by the Center for Teaching and Learning.

    Wednesday, January 28: Poetry at NJCU

        A reading of creative works by students and faculty of the English Department, hosted by Prof. Tan Lin, 2:00-3:00 PM in the NJCU Bookstore.

    Thursday, January 29: Careers in Publishing Series: "Secrets of Successful Freelancers"

        A roundtable discussion hosted by Prof. Jim Broderick, 5:00-6:00 PM in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos.

    Tuesday, February 3: Writers on Campus Series: "Girls Like You: Visualizing Verses"   

       A presentation by Margot Douaihy and Bri Hernanson, hosted by Prof. Edi Giunta, 5:30-7:00 PM in GSU 129.

    Tuesday, February 10: Careers in Publishing Series: Margaux Fragoso

        NJCU Alumna and author of international best-selling memoir, Tiger, Tiger, will meet with NJCU writers at an event hosted by Prof. Edi Giunta, 3:30-5:30 PM 
        in GSU Multipurpose Room A.

    Wednesday, February 11: Writers on Campus Series: "Margaux Fragoso on Writing Tiger, Tiger"

        Hosted by Prof. Josh Fausty, 4:00-7:00 PM in GSU Multipurpose Room A. 

    Wednesday, February 18: 6 O'clock Social

        Hosted by Prof. David Blackmore 6:00-8:00 PM, in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos.   

    Thursday, February 19: Writers on Campus Series: "Say It in 100 Words"  

        A group reading hosted by Prof. Edi Giunta and Angelica Roman, 4:00-6:00 PM in GSU 129. 

     

     

    Monday, February 23: "Poems We Love: Readings by Students and Faculty"

        Hosted by Prof. Chris Wessman, 3:00-4:00 PM in the third-floor Student Loung of Karnoutsos. 

    Tuesday, February 24: Fulbright Grant (teach/study abroad) Workshop

        Hosted by Prof. Irma Maini, 6:00-6:30 PM in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos. 

    Thursday, February 26: "Are You Considering Graduate School?"  

        Hosted by Sonya Donaldson and Carolyn Wilkinson, 3:30-5:00 PM in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos. 

    Tuesday, March 3: Writers on Campus Series: "The Women We Remember: How Memoirists Rewrite the Past"

        Hosted by Prof. Edi Giunta, 5:30-7:30 PM in GSU 129. 

    Thursday, April 9: Speaking of Literature Series

        Hosted by Prof. Sonya Donaldson, 2:00-4:00 PM in GSU 129. 

    Monday, April 13: 6 O’Clock Social 

        Hosted by Prof. David Blackmore, 6:00-8:00 PM in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos. 

    Thursday, April 23: "Writing the Honors Thesis"

        A panel discussion with faculty, alumni, and students hosted by Prof. Edi Giunta, 4:30-6:00 PM in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos.

    Monday, April 27: Graduation Party

        Come celebrate the English Department's graduating seniors. 4:00-7:00 PM in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos.

    Tuesday, April 28: Writers on Campus Series: "Dear Father: Writers Remember"   

        Hosted by Prof. Edi Giunta, 5:30-7:30 in GSU Room 129.

    Thursday, April 30: Careers in Publishing Series: "Interning at a Publishing House"

        Hosted by Prof. Edi Giunta and Angelica Roman, 4:00-5:00 PM in the Third-Floor Student Lounge of Karnoutsos.

    Thursday, May 7: Recognition Day: A Celebration of Students' Accomplishments

        Hosted by Prof. David Blackmore, 4:00-6:00 PM, in Gothic Lounge, Hepburn Hall 202.

    Wednesday, May 20: Deadline to Submit for the Kathy Potter Memorial Writing Award